#### WEST OXFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

# Minutes of the meeting of the Audit and Governance Committee Held in the Council Chamber at 2.40 pm on Wednesday, 24 May 2023

### **PRESENT**

Councillors: Mathew Parkinson (Chair), Ruth Smith (Vice-Chair), Joy Aitman, Andrew Beaney, Rachel Crouch, Colin Dingwall, Jane Doughty, David Jackson, Edward James, Michele Mead, David Melvin, Mathew Parkinson, Elizabeth Poskitt, Andrew Prosser, Geoff Saul, Harry St John and Alex Wilson.

Officers: Giles Hughes (Chief Executive), Jan Britton (Managing Director), Elizabeth Griffiths (Chief Finance Officer, Deputy Chief Executive and Section 151 Officer), Max Thompson and Frank Wilson (Group Finance Director - Publica), Barry Clack (Communications Officer), Michelle Ouzman (Democratic Services Officer), Anne Learmonth (Democratic Services Officer), and Maria Harper (Democratic Service Administrator).

Other Councillors in attendance: Andrew Coles, Alaa Al-Yousuf, Thomas Ashby, Hugo Ashton, Michael Brooker, David Cooper, Julian Cooper, Duncan Enright, Phil Godfrey, Andy Goodwin, Andy Graham, Jeff Haine, Mark Johnson, Natalie King, Liz Leffman, Nick Leverton, , Andrew Lyon, Charlie Maynard, Martin McBride, Lysette Nicholls, Rosie Pearson, Rizvana Poole, Carl Rylett, Sandra Simpson, Tim Sumner, Liam Walker, Mark Walker, Adrian Walsh, and Alistair Wray.

#### Election of Chair

The Chair of the Council, Councillor Andrew Coles, opened the meeting.

Democratic Services relayed to Council the names of Members who had been appointed to the Council's Audit and Governance Committee, who were:

#### Councillors:

- Mathew Parkinson;
- Elizabeth Poskitt:
- David Jackson;
- David Melvin;
- Alaric Smith;
- Alex Wilson;
- Jane Doughty;
- Andrew Beaney;
- Edward James;
- Michele Mead;
- Colin Dingwall;
- Ruth Smith;
- Geoff Saul;
- Joy Aitman;

#### Audit and Governance Committee

#### 24/May2023

- Rachel Crouch;
- Andrew Prosser
- Harry St. John.

The Chair of the Council asked for nominations for the position of Chair of Audit and Governance Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024.

Councillor Elizabeth Poskitt, proposed that Councillor Mathew Parkinson be appointed to the position of Chair of Audit and Governance Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024. This was seconded by Councillor Ruth Smith and was put to a vote. The vote carried.

#### Council Resolved to:

I. Appoint Councillor Mathew Parkinson to the position of Chair of Audit and Governance Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024.

# 2 Appointment of Vice Chair

The Chair of Audit and Governance Committee, Councillor Mathew Parkinson, asked Council for nominations to the position of Vice-Chair of Audit and Governance Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024.

Councillor Joy Aitman, proposed that Councillor Ruth Smith be appointed to the position of Vice-Chair of Audit and Governance Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024. This was seconded by Councillor Mathew Parkinson and was put to a vote. The vote carried.

#### Committee **Resolved** to:

1. Appoint Councillor Ruth Smith to the position of Vice-Chair of Audit and Governance Committee for the municipal year 2023/2024.

## 3 Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from Councillor Alaric Smith.

#### 4 Appointment of Sub Committee

Democratic Services relayed to Council the name of Members who had been nominated to the Council's Standards Sub-Committee, who were:

- Councillor Elizabeth Poskitt;
- Councillor David Jackson;
- Councillor Andrew Beaney;
- Councillor Michele Mead;
- Councillor Joy Aitman.

The Chair of the Committee, Councillor Mathew Parkinson, proposed that Council agree the appointments to the Standards Sub-Committee. This was seconded by Councillor David lackson, was put to a vote, and was unanimously agreed by Council.

# Audit and Governance Committee 24/May2023

# The Audit and Governance Committee resolved to:

- 1. Appoint the following Councillors to the Standards Sub-Committee:
- Councillor Elizabeth Poskitt;
- Councillor David Jackson;
- Councillor Andrew Beaney;
- Councillor Michele Mead;
- Councillor Joy Aitman.

The Meeting closed at 2.37 pm

**CHAIR**